Arm Wrestling at the Negotiation Table: How Are Power Dynamics Between the President and the Congress Determined in Foreign Policy to Israel?

Hi Everyone,

My name is Yael Wulfovich and I am rising senior at Stanford University majoring in International Relations, and completing a Masters Degree in Psychology. I look forward to meeting all of you at the Fall Conference. I read a lot of your blog posts, and I can’t wait to see what you will produce.

I want to focus my paper on the relative importance of the factors that determine the power dynamics between the president and Congress in creating and implementing foreign policy to Israel. More specifically, I am interested in examining how Congress informally determined the degree of flexibility in presidential enforcement during the negotiations regarding the recognition of Jerusalem as the Israeli Capital after 1967. To formulate a theory, I will examine the perceived strength of the president in foreign affairs, the president’s policy ties to Israel, general public discourse regarding Jerusalem at that time, poll numbers on the Jewish vote, and the perceived status quo.

I hope to examine the intricate and complex incentives facing the president and Congress in this context, in an attempt to better understand, and possibly even predict, the behavior of these institutions.

Please let me know if you have any thoughts.

See you soon!

This entry was posted in 2013-2014 Paper Topics. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Arm Wrestling at the Negotiation Table: How Are Power Dynamics Between the President and the Congress Determined in Foreign Policy to Israel?

  1. Stanford Student says:

    When can we see a paper!

Leave a Reply

