The Bully Pulpit In Africa: The US President and a Continent of Challenges and Opportunities

It’s only right to open my first post on this blog by saying how excited I am to be a part of the Presidential Fellows Program this year. Based on all I’ve heard about the program from past participants and all I’ve read about the CSPC, I think it’s going to be a great year.

My project has its roots in much of the overseas work I’ve done over the past year, in and out of the classroom. In 2012 I’ve spent a semester studying leadership at Oxford University, two months in London working for an international aid NGO run by a member of the House of Lords, and several weeks in sub-Saharan Africa working in humanitarian relief. It has been an amazing year and has introduced me to a number of new fields, places, and interests.

One of the greatest opportunities this fellowship affords me is an excuse to devote some significant time to tying all these interests together and connecting the dots between leadership, the American Presidency, and sub-Saharan Africa. I will start by exploring the relevancy of sub-Saharan Africa to the United States, identifying foundational US strategic interests in the region, and thoroughly evaluating the advantages and disadvantages of our current policy approach. I will then bring in my interest in leadership by exploring the idea of power in terms of foreign policy and by looking at how, specifically, the President of the United States can best use hard and soft power—or, “smart power”—not only to protect and further US interests in the region, but also to aid and assist sub-Saharan Africa as it continues to grow, change, and develop.

Although much has been written in the past on sub-Saharan Africa, the United States, and the nature of their relationship, it is still an historically under-appreciated area in American political discourse and research. Additionally, since the work which has been produced has been generally episodic, I will use my thesis to encourage a more constant, sustained effort from scholars and government officials to address sub-Saharan Africa and its strategic importance to the United States. Mechanically speaking, I will be relying on in-depth qualitative analysis in my writing, and look forward to critically engaging a diverse body of material for the project, including government documents, historical analyses, policy reports, assessments and reports from international organizations and NGOs, interviews with relevant experts and officials, etc.

I’m excited about my project, and will look forward to hearing more about all the others. Good luck; see you all in November!

Regards,

Franklin McGuire, Jr.

The Citadel, The Military College of South Carolina

About Franklin McGuire Jr.

I am a cadet at The Citadel, The Military College of South Carolina, majoring in English. http://www.linkedin.com/profile/view?id=101416342&trk=tab_pro http://www.facebook.com/franklin.mcguire
This entry was posted in 2012-2013 General. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Bully Pulpit In Africa: The US President and a Continent of Challenges and Opportunities

  1. johnadearborn says:

    Hello Franklin!

    Your project definitely covers a very important topic and I look forward to hearing more about your work on it! I’m sure you already have a plethora of sources on this, but I just wanted to mention that President George W. Bush’s memoir Decision Points has a chapter called the “Lazarus Effect” that deals with his administration’s work to fight AIDS and malaria in Africa that might be interesting to you. Condoleeza Rice’s memoir No Higher Honor also has a relevant chapter titled “Bush the African.”

    • Hi John!

      Thanks so much for the tips! So far, I had not considered looking into those sources, so I will definitely have to give them a look. I’m glad you like the topic choice—I’m certainly looking forward to delving into it more deeply this semester.

      Good luck on your work too—I’ll look forward to meeting you in person in DC in November. (Really like your profile pic, by the way…London is my favorite city in the world!)

      • johnadearborn says:

        You’re welcome and looking forward to meeting you as well! I studied in London during the summer of 2011; I agree, it’s my favorite city as well.

Leave a Reply

