American Congress and Foreign Affairs

Hi everyone, my name is Silvia Esbeydi Arias Carmona and I’m currently in the senior year of my major on International Relations at the Universidad de las Americas Puebla. I’m really excited to meet all of my fellow Fellows.

Since I’m an Internationalist, I’m always interested in the way a country’s foreign policy is carried through and of course, shaped. While American Congress remains to be one of the most powerful legislature in the world: they have retained a very high degree of independennt decision-making, however they have also succumbed to the ‘presidentialism’ that plagues Western democracies nowadays.

Therefore, I have become intrigued by this apparently simbiotic relation between the powers of the Congress and the President, regarding USA Foreign Policy. Who influences who? Does the foreign policy is just an extension of the President wishes?

My proposal is that, regardless the ‘inconditional’ support shown for the President, in reality the American Congress has more influence in shaping the Foreign Policy that is given credit for. I will focus on three areas of this policy:

1)War Issues
2) International Trading
3) Humanitarian Aid

Now, I expect to use a historical approach and also to review voting records, bills and a review of the international arena, to determinate if the Congress is indeed an institutional supporter of the President or if on the contrary; they just know to ‘pick their battles’.

Please let me know what you think, and I’m really looking forward to work with you.

This entry was posted in 2013-2014 Paper Topics. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to American Congress and Foreign Affairs

  1. My partner and I absolutely love your blog and find almost all
    of your post’s to be precisely what I’m looking for.
    Does one offer guest writers to write content in your case?

    I wouldn’t mind publishing a post or elaborating on most of the subjects you
    write concerning here. Again, awesome site!

  2. It is truly a great and helpful piece of information. I am glad
    that you simply shared this useful info with us. Please keep us informed like this.
    Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

